DeHaan Artist of Distinction Award

2022 Timeline & Resources

Application Deadlines

  • February 11, 2022
  • May 13, 2022
  • August 5, 2022
  • November 11, 2022

All submissions are due by 4:30 pm on the quarterly deadline date.

Application Guidelines

Click HERE to review the 2022 DeHaan Artist of Distinction Guidelines

Award Notification

15 business days, at the earliest, after quarterly deadline.

Draft Review Deadlines

For those interested, applicants may submit a preliminary draft of their application for feedback from the Arts Council's Grant Services team. Please submit draft by the following date:

  • January 28, 2022
  • April 29, 2022
  • July 22, 2022
  • October 28, 2022

All draft review submissions are due by 4:30 pm on the quarterly draft deadline date (two weeks before application deadlines).


Register for a live workshop using the links below. 

View recorded workshops using the links below.

For updates on grants, workshops, and deadlines

General Grant Information

As part of its mission, the Arts Council works with local foundations to support and nurture the careers of professional artists. In 2017, the Christel DeHaan Family Foundation (CDFF) and the Arts Council of Indianapolis (ACI) created and piloted a new juried artist grant/award program to provide quick turnaround project funding for professional artists in Indiana that promotes, celebrates, recognizes, and rewards excellence. The aim of the program is to recognize contemporary visual artists and support their exceptional projects.  

The DeHaan Artist of Distinction Award Program will honor up to five contemporary visual artists with grants of up to $10,000 each year for aspirational visual arts projects. Each project must demonstrate an immediate need for the requested funds and be completed within the stated deadline. It is intended to allow a high-tolerance for risk and exploration and will provide support for an artist’s creative practice that will help her/him push their work in dynamic ways. Each artist will submit a final report at the end of the process and may be included in a final curated exhibition.  

Applications are reviewed quarterly but are accepted on a rolling basis, and may be submitted at any time. All submissions are due by 4:30 pm on the quarterly deadline date. Applications received after 4:30 pm will be included in the next adjudication cycle. Upon selection of the award recipient(s), those applications that were not successfully funded will be reopened so that applicants can make edits to their original application and re-submit for a future deadline.

Our 2022 panelists are C. Ondine Chavoya, Ph.D., Williams College; Bryn Jackson, visual artist; Jade Powers, Harn Museum of Art; Melynne Klaus, Christel DeHaan Family Foundation; and Lindsey Lord, Arts Council of Indianapolis. 

Please note that all grant awards are subject to the availability of funds for up to five contemporary artists each year. 

For more information, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Boxx The Artist

Visual Artist

Boxx The Artist synthesizes expressionistic portraiture through acrylic paintings, digital art, and public installations that examines the African Diaspora providing cultural images that honor a marginalized community. Her work captures different elements of life promoting health, wealth, wellness, and celebrating Blackness.

Jennifer Scheuer

Visual Artist & Printmaker

Scheuer’s work addresses themes of history, plants, the body, and healing. She is an assistant professor of printmaking in the Rueff School of Design, Art and Performance at Purdue University. With the support of this award, she will focus her creative practice in exploration of artist books.


Anila Agha

Visual Artist

Her new installation, "Gathering Storms," will reference the effects of climate change on racial and class dynamics

Artur Teixiera da Silva

Multimedia Artist

His work aims to challenge the mythology around the military and spotlight how this myth affects all Americans, but specifically new immigrants of color.

Bryan Ballinger


His murals set animals–human and otherwise–in settings that suggest a story that viewers can make their own.

Kelvin Burzon

Multimedia Artist

Burzon's work explores the intersections of sexuality, race, gender, and religion. It is driven by his Pilipino-American background, interest in religion's role in culture and familial relationships, as well as Catholicism's traditions, imagery, theatricality, and its psychological vestige.

Laura Foster Nicholson


Her large-scale tapestry will explore the "beauty/desolation" of industrial agriculture and its impact on climate change.


Beatriz Vásquez

Visual Artivist

Vásquez's work experiments with the conceptual use of papel picado, a Mexican Folk art. She transforms layers of intricate cut paper into murals, creates wearable sculptures, and exhibits large-scale installations. Vasquez will use the grant to preserve her delicate and detailed hand-cut paper murals in a secure climate-controlled environment.

Eric Lubrick


Lubrick is a photographer whose work represents a visual collection of deconstructing and reconstructing autobiographical moments. His unnamed project is inspired by COVID-19, the political environment, and art-world stereotypes. His project will transform sculptural floral compositions into words or phrases that resonate with many of these divisive themes.

Mason Archie


Archie is a landscape and figurative painter. His project “The Risk and Beauty of Humanity: Landscapes of the Underground Railroad.” will use landscapes and waterscapes to document historical sites of the Underground Railroad in Indiana as they currently exist. He will also create a book providing historical data on the selected sites. 

Samuel Levi Jones

Visual Artivist

Jones, a visual artist/activist, will study innovations in papermaking. During his studies, he will develop and complete a comprehensive, large-scale body of two-dimensional work completed with paper from books on the twentieth-century history of Bartholomew County, Indiana. Jones will also learn how to create large, three-dimensional paper sculptures.

Kelvin Burzon

Mason Archie
Samuel Levi Jones
Eric Lubrick
Beatriz Vasquez

LaShawnda Crowe Storm
Constance Edwards Scopelitis
Lobyn Hamilton

Stuart Hyatt
Jacinda Russell

Anila Quayyum Agha
Kassim Norris
Artur Silva
Stefan Petranek
Cory Robinson

Philip Campbell
Shawn Causey
Nhat Tran
Lauren Zoll

See What The 2020 Awardees Did With Their Grants

See What The 2019 Awardees Did With Their Grants

The Arts Council of Indianapolis is committed to working with the arts and cultural community to cultivate a sector that serves, celebrates, and values every resident of Indianapolis. We envision a city where engagement in the arts is not pre-determined by socio-economic status, race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, or disability. We believe in a full creative life for all.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio

Thank you to our funders

City of Indy logo
Indiana Arts Commission
Clowes Charitable Foundation